Pick a Book, Any Book

After looking at my list of favorite books on the right, I realized what a widespread genre I enjoy. Sometimes I can’t find one shred of commonality between some of the themes I choose. It’s a far cry from a story of a young girl coming of age in South Carolina during the civil rights movement, in Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and the enticing saga of vampires and werewolves, romance and mystery in Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight.

And while we’re on the subject of vampires, even my most recent vamp-favorite, the can’t-put-it-down-series by Charlaine Harris, depicts yet a completely different, more humorous view on vamps in her Sookie Stackhouse novels. I will admit, I’ve always had a thing for vampires though. I’ll go on record as saying, yes, I was an avid viewer of the Buffy the Vampire Slayer series.

Right now I’m hooked on an older series that I happened to run across about quirky New Jersey bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum, in the novels by Janet Evanovich.  Seems Ms. Evanovich has been writing this series since the 80’s and is still going with it.  It’s up over 15 books now.  I’ve almost caught up with her in reading now, so she’s going to have to start cranking out more, because I’m definitely not ready for the ending!

I used to be a huge Stephen King fan. I’ve read nearly all of his books, my favorite being Christine, of course. But, now something changed–maybe post kids–those seem to give me the willies too much to read them anymore. Maybe I’ll pick them up again someday.

As far as non-fiction, I immensely enjoyed the memoir, Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, in which the writer made a pilgrimage across Italy, India and Indonesia to find herself. But I wouldn’t say that memoirs, in general, are my cup of tea. I think maybe in the timing of reading that book, I was also looking for something and by experiencing with the author, I was able to find a piece of that. I just didn’t have to take time off work to do it!

After a search at our local bookstore when my hands had eagerly picked up The Friday Night Knitting Club, by Kate Jacobs, my husband had to laugh. “Knitting? Why in the world would you want to read about knitting?!” But it wasn’t the knitting that “wove” me into the book. It was the story of how all these different women, from all different walks of life, came together for the love of one thing. And they ended up sharing an unbreakable friendship. It was also set in Manhattan’s Upper West Side, a place I’ve always wanted to visit. So a piece of me was there.

Then it was on to The Pillars of the Earth. Definitely not my typical read, but Oprah recommended viewers to read it…so…And I’m so glad I did. This will be one that, when I’m in the mood to sink my teeth into something with a little more than just light reading required, I will pick up again, and again.

So, when people ask me what I like to read, I often find it difficult to answer. The truth is I could probably find something interesting on the back of a cereal box. I’ve learned there is more literal truth in the saying, “You can’t judge a book by its cover.” I’ve almost never met a book I didn’t like.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Reading

One response to “Pick a Book, Any Book

  1. Pingback: Book Review Rating System « Christine Rice

Leave a Reply

