A Great Place to Be

Thirty-something is a good place to be.  Maybe I’ll just stay thirty-something forever–at least in my mind, anyway.

In my late teens I thought I had everything figured out.  But, of course, that couldn’t have been further from the truth.  In my twenties, I finally realized that I didn’t know a damn thing about where my life was headed–not anything profound, anyway.  And it bothered me immensely.  The meaning of life, so it would seem, would forever elude me.

Now, fast forward to thirty-something.  I still haven’t figured out the meaning of life.  But I’m at a point where I’m not so sure that’s such a bad thing.  The not knowing–sometimes that’s the wonder of it all.  I try to live each day in the here and now, and I’m a much happier person for it.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have hopes and dreams for the future.  Of course I do.  I have goals and aspirations everyday of becoming a published novelist.  But that as-of-yet unrealized ambition doesn’t change the fact that right now, as I sit here, I am a writer.  Published or not, the only person who can take that designation away from me is me.  And I know one day the publishing part will come.  It may not come until the second or third leg of my thirty-somethings, but I’ll be content while I wait.

1 Comment

Filed under Writing, Writings and Ramblings

One response to “A Great Place to Be

  1. christinerice

    Not very often will I comment on my own post when I’m not directly replying to someone. But I think I have to comment after re-reading this post. “…I’ll be content while I wait.” I need to rethink that concept.

    It’s one thing to be happy while you making your dreams become reality. It’s quite another to just sit idly by and wait for something good to come to you. Waiting for my dreams won’t make them happen.

    Time to get more active in reaching my goals.

Leave a Reply

