Stephanie Plum Series

I’m usually one for structure when it comes to reading.  Typically, I’d never push the envelope by starting a new book series anywhere but at the beginning.  But that’s exactly what I did when I started reading Plum Spooky by Janet Evanovich, only I didn’t realize it at the time.  I was clueless to the fact that Ms. Evanovich has apparently been at the business of writing novels for some time now.  She started off first with romance novels before finally settling in on the life and times of quirky, Jersey-girl bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum, and finding voice through an eclectic mix of laugh-out-loud humor, some love, a little lust, plus crime and mystery all wrapped into one.

It started with Plum Spooky, the eighteenth book (and not the last) in the series.  Nevertheless, I was pleased to see how effortlessly I was able to jump right in and follow most of the storyline without having read any of her previous novels.  (She’s good like that!)  Plum Spooky could have been a stand alone novel for all I knew, and it wasn’t until later that I realized, looking in the front of the book, that low and behold, Janet had accumulated a long list of other juicy Plum works just waiting for me to sink my teeth into.

Of course, I know that it’s always best to start at–or in this case, go back to–the beginning.  And that’s just what I did with One for the Money, where I completely fell in love with not only Stephanie, but her entire family, her on-and-off-again boyfriend, Trenton cop, Joe Morelli, her tempting mentor, the mysterious Ranger and a plethora of other likable characters and irksome bad guys.

If you haven’t picked up this series yet, Janet likes to make it easy for us followers.  She numbers her book titles, like Two for the Dough and Three to Get Deadly.  Then, just for kicks, she throws in a few off-the-cuff books (including Plum Spooky) into the mix.  She brings back the favorites and tosses in a new (possibly supernatural and definitely hunky) guy named Diesel, into the mix, with titles like Plum Lovin’ and Visions of Sugar Plums.  “Plum”–ha, ha–get it?

Janet’s latest, Finger Lickin’ Fifteen, lives up to all its promises and delivers once again, with its page-turning plot and laugh-til-you-cry amusement.  One of the best series I’ve ever read.

Overall series rating:  5 Stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Reading

Leave a Reply

