Can’t Write Now, I’ve Gotta Run

The beautiful 70 degree temps we’ve been enjoying dropped recently, hovering closer to the 55 range. Despite this, I decided to forgo the treadmill and hit the open road.

If you’ve ever tried to run outside in cooler weather, you’d know it’s not a pretty sight. To begin with, the wind makes your eyes water. Then your nose starts to run. So you’re plugging along with tears running down your cheeks and snot dripping out your nose. Again I say, not pretty.

Then, the wind whips your hair into a frenzy so that it plasters itself to your face; that is, if you’re lucky enough to break a sweat and actually generate some body heat. At least this is what my hair does, because while it’s long enough to blow around, it’s too short to pull back into a pony tail.

But I was out there just the same. Whether out of dedication to running or a sheer avoidance of writing, is anyone’s guess. Still, when I think about my earlier days running and how far I’ve come since then, it sometimes amazes me  that I’ve stuck with it for this long. If only I could put that much energy and belief toward my writing as of late, I might actually be getting somewhere instead of stuck in the middle of rewrites on novel one, and a third of the way through the first draft of the second. Not to mention about a gazillion other ideas floating around in my head that are just begging to be put on paper.

Sometimes I get lucky and the rhythmic sound of my feet hitting pavement–multiply that by three if joined by my furry friend–is enough to get the creative juices flowing again, initiating a clamoring of fingers on keyboard. Most of the time, though, I’m just trying to concentrate on not falling flat on my face.

As graceful and coordinated as I am, this task usually leaves little room for any other thought, which is probably why I enjoy running so much; it gives me time to not think.

What about you? What kind of activity or hobby do you enjoy when there comes a time in your day or week to just unwind and to not think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Writings and Ramblings

Leave a Reply

