Writer’s Laryngitis

I’ve lost my voice.  That is, if one can lose what they possibly never truly had in the first place.

I’m not speaking literally, but literary. I can write; that’s not the issue. I’m just struggling right now trying to find my place in this world. The trouble with me is, I’m sometimes flighty. There, I admitted it. I didn’t call myself “Wayward Writer” on Twitter for nothing. In fact, “easily swayed or prompted by caprice; unpredictable,” often fits me perfectly when it comes to writing.

I flip flop back and forth on my writing style–my voice–trying a number of different things on for size. The only thing that remains constant is my desire to write, to be a writer.

At this moment, I have two fictional novels partially complete. And by partially, I mean I can’t seem to get the storyline on either quite to my liking. But, more than that, each is very different in style. The first is an example of women’s fiction, written in a more literary style (i.e. I use bigger words). The other, even less complete, is an easy-read, fantasy story, more humorous in nature (I hope).

I also have started writing down bits and pieces of my life which I hope to someday compile into a memoir. The trouble with this is, I can’t see the path it’s taking yet. Would it be a fun, lighthearted memoir? Or more like the inner-soul searching, find yourself type? This really is ironic, being that it’s my own life’s story! I would think, at least, I’d be able to figure that one out. But, alas, I am still wishy-washy even when it comes to this.

That’s why I’ve decided I suffer from the possibly rare but serious disease called Writer’s Laryngitis. (Okay, yes, I just made that up.) This is not to be mistaken for the all-too-common Writer’s Block, which symptoms include: staring aimlessly at a blank computer screen for hours at a time, overuse of alcohol, and eventual hair loss. Writer’s Laryngitis is often caused by the overuse of one’s writing voice or by the use of too many different voices all at once. These voices may also occur in one’s own head (often exacerbated by the aforementioned overuse of alcohol). More serious cases can often lead to Dissociative Identity Disorder, or split personality, so we’ve I’ve heard.

One thing’s for certain, I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to stick with just one genre or style of writing. I can’t write all humor all the time (not enough material). And, by the same token, I can’t be serious and broody all the time either (not enough wine). If this post itself isn’t evidence enough of my eclectic, wayward writing habits, I don’t know what is. It doesn’t take much to see that this piece started out as something more figurative and metaphoric in tone.

Then, somewhere, I took a left turn at Albuquerque.  The question is, do I need a road map or just continue to follow my own erratic sense of direction?

12 Comments

Filed under Writing, Writings and Ramblings

12 responses to “Writer’s Laryngitis

  1. I think it is great that you can be diverse. If your in this mood, work on one thing, in another mood, work on something else. That sounds like it could be the way to go because somedays you just don’t want to write in one particular style or another.
    Good luck finishing your drafts.

    • Christine Rice

      I beat myself up over not finishing projects, but in reality, I’ve nearly completed (at least on some level) 2 entire books in about 2 years. So I guess the bouncing back and forth isn’t so bad, given I actually finish something in the end.

  2. Darling, Christine. Where would we be if someone told the rainbow to be only yellow? Or a prism to reflect only blue? Or an orchestra to be made up only of oboes?

    You have colors and qualities and talents and voices. You are a chorus of angels in your writing.

    I love this piece for its diversity. Perhaps the laryngitis comes from forcing your throat to use only one vocal fold instead of the whole throat. To speak in monotone instead of with inflections and mood.

    I’m happy you’re so versatile. You surprise me. Your writing delights me. You have a cornucopia of voices to choose from anytime you want. What a gift! Your chorus of critics is just jealous. Flip them off and sing!
    Nancy

    • Christine Rice

      What else can I say, Nancy, but thank you?! Thank you! Thank you!

      I need to learn to accept my diversity in everything, including my writing and to “embrace myself” and be confident in the fact that if I write it, there are those who will enjoy reading it.

  3. planejaner

    Christine…I can relate. I ride the swing, too, from funny to brooding to preachy to 3rd person…I think if we were just one way, wrote only in one vein or style, it would be so boring.
    like talking with no inflection, you know?

    I love the term writer’s laryngitis. 🙂 be well
    jane

    • Christine Rice

      I’ve noticed that about you, Jane. Must be why I enjoy reading your posts as well! Thank you!

  4. I’m with the other girls…it’s far more interesting to have different styles.

    This blogging thing is hard…I find it difficult coming up with stuff to write every day – not everything I spew out is gold nuggets!

    For me, I just do what feels right to me at the time…

    Wendy

  5. Christine Rice

    Wendy, it’s funny, but if I try to “journal” I find I give it up all too quickly, but give me a blog or dreams of writing a memoir, and I’ll have something to say nearly everyday! I’m glad to know there are those interested in what I have to say! Thanks!

  6. smalltownbiglife

    Christine, I just wrote a post on “Writer’s Block” this morning and then found your wonderful piece tonight! I can so identify with starting and not finishing, although I’ve never attempted anything longer than a short story…to even attempt a novel is an act of courage. Thank you for the post.

  7. tekia

    I can relate although I don’t consider it a problem. I like to write about different things (science fiction, thrillers, inspirational, etc.). I think it also depends on the individual. For me, I just write whatever I’m writing. I don’t really pay attention to voice and I don’t think I’ve ever considered the voice of wither of my novels. But that’s not to say they don’t have one. I just start to write and however it comes out is how I leave it as long as the story flows well from beginning to end and everything makes sense (excluding editing and revising because you miss alot of stuff the first round through). I find that once you start writing, even if you have an outline, the story takes up a life of its own. Everything about the novel (the characters, the story, the interactions) all take up a life of its own. Now I must give a disclaimer: I don’t normally go into a project with the intent to create a voice for that novel. But if I’m going to write something with a specific purpose like inspirational I say to myself okay, this story has to got to be inspirational so, what things can I take the main character through that would make them triumphant and sensational by the end? but again I do think it depends mainly on the individual in how they want to write their novel. I would say go with whatever truly feels right to you. I hope this has helped in some way or another. Have a blessed day.

    • Christine Rice

      Thank you Tekia. I think my frustration mainly stems from me thinking I need to fit into one nice little box. I’m much happier thinking out of the box!

Leave a Reply

