Consider Yourself Forewarned

The other day on my lunch break I called up my husband. “Hey,” I said, “remember that writing thing I like to do?”

“Yeeeaaah…” He often uses that tone that sounds like he’s never quite sure where my brain is going with things and is debating on whether or not to get off the train or ride it out.

“Well, I just wanted to give you a heads up. I have some new ideas I’m plotting for that one book I haven’t worked on for a while.”

“Okaaay…”

“I just need to sit on them for a bit and then I’ll be going into Crazy-Writer-Woman-Mode.”

“Sweet!” he says. I’m very lucky, he’s very supportive of my writing. Although I’ve never really asked him to read any of my novels in progress, he knows how much writing in general means to me. That, and the fact that I tend to get antagonistic if I haven’t been able to creatively express myself with words for a period of time.

“Yeah, you’ll think ‘sweet’ until I burn dinner and forget we have kids for a while,” I lamented.

He chuckled. Probably out of nervousness because of not-so-distant-memories of the last time I was “in the zone.” It was during the final stages of my first draft of Autumn in Vermont. It was my first attempt at novel-writing and even I didn’t realize how all-encompassing it could be. I routinely tried to pass off overcooked dinner or lunchmeat sandwiches. They were lucky they got fed at all.

“I just wanted to warn you,” I said. The last time, I think it took him a few days to realize I was MIA and then he walked around wondering if he’d done something wrong. When I finally emerged and he realized how engrossed I’d become in the task of heavy-duty writing, I think he was relieved. This time around, I hope they’ll all be more prepared for what’s to come.

So, I may be missing from here for awhile as well, but at least you’ve been given a heads up. I’m likely not sick, or dead or mad at the world…just writing!

4 Comments

Filed under Writing, Writings and Ramblings

4 responses to “Consider Yourself Forewarned

  1. We’ll miss you, Christine…may your words flow like water from your brain to your computer…

    Wendy

  2. planejaner

    best to you as you journey forth!
    blessings
    jane

  3. Pingback: Suspicious Minds « In Other Words ~ Christine Rice

  4. Pingback: Writing Research…Otherwise Known as Cyber-Stalking « In Other Words ~ Christine Rice

Leave a Reply

