Baby, I was Born to Run

Every muscle in my body, well, at least in my lower half, is screaming at me. But the only thing I hear is the constant reminder of “I did it…I Did It…I REALLY DID IT!!!”

I ran in my first mini-marathon yesterday. More importantly, I finished it. For those of you who don’t know just how crazy this is, it’s a half of a marathon’s distance. Thirteen point one miles to be exact. And the fact that this took place in Indiana in November makes it seem even more crazy that I would even attempt it.

I hate the cold!

And it was cold…thirty degrees when we started out at 8 am, me in nothing but running tights, a pair of knee length shorts and two thin, moisture-wicking long sleeve shirts. I also had on running gloves for most of the time and a hat. As cold as it felt at first, I’m glad I opted for no jacket because by mile one, I was warming up. Some brave souls started out in far less; tank tops, short-shorts, one man barefoot! Others lost various articles of clothing at points along the way. There were shirts and jackets flying here, ear muffs and hats lobbed over a crowd of thousands in the opposite direction.

That was the other thing; the crowd. Both runners and spectators alike, were amazing. I’m usually one for the solitude, but during the race, I felt like I was in my element. Just being in the midst of it was energizing. I really got into it, whooping and hollering as we passed by the cheering crowds lined up along the streets of downtown Indianapolis. People held signs, played loud music, and shouted out encouragement as we ran past.

As I rounded the last stretch before the finish line, I have never felt so exhausted and so elated all at the same time, except for maybe after the births of my children. But this race was something I did just for me and even though nothing can compare with being a mom, I’m feeling pretty good right now. Sore muscles and all.

6 Comments

Filed under Running

6 responses to “Baby, I was Born to Run

  1. Congrats, Christine…missing your posts in blogland!

    Wendy

  2. I’m thoroughly impressed! I just started running a few weeks ago and I’m lucky if I can do 1.7 miles. My stamina is pretty bad so reading about your marathon inspired me.

  3. Christine Rice

    JoDee, that’s not far from where I was just a year ago. Keep at it!

  4. Pingback: Pressing Issues (or ways I’m distracting myself from writing) « In Other Words ~ Christine Rice

  5. Pingback: Of Reflections and Resolutions | In Other Words ~ Christine Rice

Leave a Reply

